2012 Bob Cat Predator Pro 61 inch Mower Review

by Shawn Chapman
(Mobile, Al)

Bought the first Predator Pro with a 37 hp efi. The first mower had multiple problems with the blade shutting off after about eight trips or more to the dealer and down time. The fuel injection system started messing up and was eventually replaced by Bobcat at 200 hours.


The second mower had so far been doing well except for multiple blade spindles being replaced under warranty. Until the engine began to spit and sputter and also began to smoke when it is cranked at about 200 hours multiple complaints to dealer and they were unable to find the problem.

Finally, the motor quit running with all service being done at said intervals. Dealer said after speaking to Kawasaki that the motor needs to be replaced. Dealer said it has 30% compression on one side and 70% on the other. Kawasaki advised that they were not going to honor the warranty due to the engine had ingested dirt, but could not say where the dirt came from. They also said that the heads should of been decarbonized and a head job done at 300 hours.

Not happy with Kawasaki and will not be buying any more of their products nor will I be buying any more Bobcat products.

Comments for 2012 Bob Cat Predator Pro 61 inch Mower Review

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 02, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2012 Bob Cat Predator Pro 61 inch Mower NEW
by: DLB in Sthrn. ILL.

I am having the same problems Mr. Chapman of AL. had. I have the same 2012 Bobcat mower and it starts spitting and sputtering and just quits, also smokes when started up. The mower only has 259 hrs. on it, took to dealer in June 2014 and Kawasaki replaced some coils (at no charge) claiming that was the problem. I used it for 12 hrs and it started again, took it back to dealer and Kawasaki has the dealer putting all kinds of crap on the engine to remedy the problem (new wiring harness, new sensors, etc.) and now it won't run at all. Dealer told me he would get the engine replaced because Kawasaki has had many problems w/ the DFI engine. Dealer said he had replaced several engines due to this problem. Now Kawasaki won't honor the warranty because I bought the mower from my Nephew (initial owner) who was kiled in accident, I bought it to help w/ funeral expenses. Its funny,after I bought it, they honored the warranty in June 2014 for the coils. Now that it won't run at all they want to wash their hands of it because they are the people who told the dealer what to put on the engine. Now they want to sell me a new engine, I haven't used the mower since July 2014, It is still w/ the dealer. I won't own another Kawasaki engine after getting thru this.

Jan 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like my Bobcat NEW
by: BudAnonymous

I own a Bobcat Prediator pro 37 hp and it is the fastest ztr as well as the best cut.Kawasaki changed the cam fuel injection on there own.The ddealer informed of issues and fixed the motor. I believe they changed both heads also. My partner in several ventures could believe the speed and quality of cut. I am having minor issues with drive bely glazing, making some slippage of the belt. I wonder if anyone else has this problem, Also I have replaced a spindle around 450 hrs.

Jan 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like my Bobcat NEW
by: BudAnonymous

I own a Bobcat Prediator pro 37 hp and it is the fastest ztr as well as the best cut.Kawasaki changed the cam fuel injection on there own.The ddealer informed of issues and fixed the motor. I believe they changed both heads also. My partner in several ventures could believe the speed and quality of cut. I am having minor issues with drive bely glazing, making some slippage of the belt. I wonder if anyone else has this problem, Also I have replaced a spindle around 450 hrs.

Jan 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like my Bobcat NEW
by: BudAnonymous

I own a Bobcat Prediator pro 37 hp and it is the fastest ztr as well as the best cut.Kawasaki changed the cam fuel injection on there own.The ddealer informed of issues and fixed the motor. I believe they changed both heads also. My partner in several ventures could believe the speed and quality of cut. I am having minor issues with drive bely glazing, making some slippage of the belt. I wonder if anyone else has this problem, Also I have replaced a spindle around 450 hrs.

Jan 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like my Bobcat NEW
by: BudAnonymous

I own a Bobcat Prediator pro 37 hp and it is the fastest ztr as well as the best cut.Kawasaki changed the cam fuel injection on there own.The ddealer informed of issues and fixed the motor. I believe they changed both heads also. My partner in several ventures could believe the speed and quality of cut. I am having minor issues with drive bely glazing, making some slippage of the belt. I wonder if anyone else has this problem, Also I have replaced a spindle around 450 hrs.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Bobcat Zero Turn Mowers.